Lok Sabha Election (Phase 2) 2024: Youth in Action They Head to the Polls!

2 Min Read
Lok Sabha Election (Phase 2) 2024 (Image source: elections24.eci.gov.in)

Lok Sabha Election (Phase 2) 2024: The voting for the (Phase 2) of the Lok Sabha elections 2024. Voting for 88 constituencies across 12 states and a UT in the second phase of the 18th Lok Sabha elections across 13 states and union territories has begun. Over 1,200 candidates, including 4 candidates from Outer Manipur, are contesting the polls.

At 5 pm, 60.7% voter turnout was recorded across 13 states and union territories. Manipur, Chhattisgarh, Bengal, Assam and Tripura recorded over 70% voter turnout while Uttar Pradesh, Bihar and Maharashtra recorded the lowest turnout at 52.6%, 53% and 53.5% respectively.

All 20 seats in Kerala, 14 of the 28 seats in Karnataka, 13 seats in Rajasthan, 8 seats each in Maharashtra and Uttar Pradesh, 7 seats in Madhya Pradesh, 5 seats each in Assam and Bihar, 3 seats each in Chhattisgarh and West Bengal, and 1 seat each in Manipur, Tripura and Jammu and Kashmir.

The prominent contestants in the fray for the second phase are Union minister Rajeev Chandrasekhar, BJP’s Tejasvi Surya, Hema Malini and Arun Govil, Congress leaders Rahul Gandhi and Shashi Tharoor, Karnataka Deputy Chief Minister DK Shivakumar’s brother DK Suresh and former Karnataka chief minister HD Kumaraswamy.

Out of the seven stages, the first phase of the elections were held last Friday for 102 seats across 21 states and (UT) Union territories. The polls saw a voter turnout of around 65.5%.


WhatsApp Channel Join Now
Telegram Channel Join Now
Instagram Group Follow Me

Read more—-

Share This Article
Leave a comment